Get an Instant Quote

Dangerous Goods Classes & Regulations - Explosives

An in-depth look at one of the nine classes of dangerous & hazardous goods - Class 1: Explosives

There are a total of nine dangerous/hazardous goods classes that are used day in and day out within the logistics sector. Each item/product/good that when transported are a risk to safety, health or the environment needs to be categorised in one of those classes.

On the Tudor website you will find information in respect of each class of the nine classes of dangerous goods. If you want a full overview of the dangerous goods topic before delving in to the specifics, be sure to check out our previous blog here.

Class 1: Explosives - What Are They?

Dangerous/Hazardous Goods that fall under the category of ‘explosives’ are materials or items which have the ability to rapidly conflagrate or detonate as a consequence of chemical reaction. The explosives have molecules within them that are designed to quickly change their usually solid state into very hot gas, this procedure can cause instant and deadly physical effect.

Class 1: Explosives – Sub Divisions:

It is all well and good having explosives as a broad topic, but within Class 1, there are also sub-divisions.
These divisions show how the said products will react if the worst-case scenario happens and they are initiated. There are six sub classes in total which are as follows:

Division 1.1: Substances and articles that have a mass explosion hazard, the most dangerous of the six.
Division 1.2: Substances and articles that have a projection hazard only.
Division 1.3: Substances that have a fire hazard and or a minor blast and projection hazard.
Division 1.4: Substances that have an extremely minimal hazard. These are usually defined by the fact they can only produce a hazard if ignited or initiated during transport but even then, the effects are minimal and usually confined to the package.
Division 1.5: Blasting agents. These substances are extremely insensitive but pose a huge explosion hazard.
Division 1.6: The final sub-division include very insensitive detonating articles that do not pose a big explosion hazard.

Note: If you are shipping explosives you will need to declare the Net Explosive Quantity (NEQ) on the the transport document in addition to the gross weight.

Reason For Regulation of Dangerous Goods

Without stating the obvious, explosives are capable of causing serious harm. It was only a few years ago that a series of explosions killed 173 in Tianjin after a highly flammable chemical self-ignited setting fire to other nearby chemicals including 800 tonnes of Class 1 Ammonium Nitrate.

When explosives react, they are capable of producing gases at unsafe temperatures, pressures and speeds ..
The transportation of Class 1 explosives is a serious business and as with any class, requires specific training and knowledge.

Do Any of Your Goods Fall Into The Class 1 Category?

Commonly Transported Class 1 Explosives:

1. Ammunition/Cartridges
2. Fireworks/Pyrotechnics
3. Flares
4. Blasting Caps/Detonators
5. Fuse
6. Primers
7. Explosive Charges (Usually those used for blasting & demolition)
8. Detonating Cords
9. Air Bag Inflators
10. Igniters
11. Rockets
12. TNT (Trinitrotoluene)
13. RDX (Research Department Explosive)
14. PETN (Pentaerithol Tetranitrate)

Whilst we do not transport Class 1 explosives here at Tudor International Freight, we have an extensive network of contacts that do specialise in this field, so please do not hesitate to get in touch.

If you have any other questions or concerns surrounding Dangerous Goods or Explosives as a specific, you can get in touch here -

Share with

Industry Specific Guidance and Logistics Advice